Progress on the Six Aims

In 2007, McLeod was recognized with a Citation of Merit by the American Hospital Association in the ‘American Hospital Association – McKesson Quest for Quality Prize.’  From the AHA website you can see a list of hospitals and health systems across the United States who have also been recognized for their progress on the IOM Six Aims.

The goals of the American Hospital Association – McKesson Quest for Quality Prize are to raise awareness of the need for a hospital-wide commitment to highly reliable, exceptional quality, patient-centered care; reward successful efforts to develop and promote a systems-based approach toward improvements in quality of care; inspire hospitals to systematically integrate and align their quality improvement efforts throughout the organization; and communicate successful programs and strategies to the hospital field.

The prize can include one award Winner, up to two hospitals may be recognized as Finalists and other hospitals may be recognized with the Citation of Merit. All U.S. hospitals are eligible for the Quest for Quality Prize.

The prize honors hospitals that:
• have committed in a systematic manner to achieving the Institute of Medicine’s six quality aims–safety, patient-centeredness, effectiveness, efficiency, timeliness, and equity;
• can document progress in achievement of all six of the IOM aims; and
• provide replicable models and systems for the hospital field.

Previous Honorees:

Bronson Methodist Hospital, Kalamazoo, MI., Winner
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston, MA., Finalist
Duke University Hospital, Durham, NC., Citation of Merit

Munson Medical Center, Traverse City, MI., Winner
University of Michigan Hospitals and Health Centers, Ann Arbor, MI., Finalist
Avera McKennan Hospital & University Health Center, Sioux Falls, SD, Citation of Merit
Saint Vincent Health Center, Erie, PA., Citation of Merit

Columbus Regional Hospital, Columbus, IN, Winner
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, Los Angeles, CA., Finalist
INTEGRIS Baptist Medical Center, Oklahoma City, OK., Finalist
Amarillo VA Health Care System, Amarillo, TX, Citation of Merit
McLeod Regional Medical Center, Florence, SC., Citation of Merit

Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center, Cincinnati, OH, Winner
Bronson Methodist Hospital, Kalamazoo, MI, Citation of Merit
Baptist Memorial Hospital for Women, Memphis, TN., Citation of Merit

North Mississippi Medical Center, Tupelo, Mississippi, Winner
El Camino Hospital, Mountain View, California, Finalist
NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital, New York City, Finalist
Lehigh Valley Hospital and Health Network, Allentown, PA., Citation of Merit

Sentara Norfolk General Hospital, Norfolk, VA., Winner
The Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltmore, MD., Finalist
Mary Lanning Memorial Hospital, Hastings, NE., Finalist
Advocate Health Care, Oak Brook, IL., Citation of Merit

Abington Memorial Hospital, Abington, PA., Winner
Beaumont Hospitals, Royal Oak, MI., Finalist
University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics, Madison, WI., Finalist
Olympic Medical Center, Port Angeles, WA., Citation of Merit.

2002, the prize’s first year
Missouri Baptist Medical Center, St. Louis, Winner
Fairview Hospital, Great Barrington, MA., Finalist
Children’s Hospitals & Clinics, Minneapolis, Finalist
Brigham & Women’s Hospital,Boston, Citation of Merit.

We eagerly await the announcements about the 2010 Honorees for the American Hospital Association – McKesson Quest for Quality Prize.  McLeod will continue to apply the Six Aims for Improvement … Safe, Effective, Patient-Centered, Timely, Efficient and Equitable … to our programs and services.  Thank you for sharing the vision to be the Choice for Medical Excellence.


Comments are closed.